Brisbane – June 2-4, 2017

VR Hackathon will be held 2-4 June 2017  at the Brisbane Powerhouse 119 Lamington Street, New Farm QLD 4005 AUSTRALIA. VR hackathon in Brisbane is co-organized by CSIRO Data61 and Brisbane ACM SIGGRAPH Chapter. This is a cost free event preceding the Web3D 2017 Conference June 5-7, 2017. 

Register Here

The VR Hackathon provides an exploratory environment where disruption, innovation, and creative ideas are brought to life. It looks to bring together crowd sourced knowledge for the advancement of virtual reality and complementary technologies. This community driven event is focused on bringing together the brightest minds around Brisbane area interested in virtual reality and related technologies to develop innovative hardware and software solutions, have fun, and help build out the future of immersive technologies. This year to promote the use of immersive technologies in real world, VR Hackathon will include industry specific challenges: Future Factories, Smarter Mining,  Disaster Resilience, Safe UAVs, Wearable Sensors, Talking Roads, Smart Farm and more.

Check out our previous VR Hackathon 

Schedule:  Friday: 5:30 PM – Midnight    Saturday: 7:30 AM – Midnight   Sunday: 7:30 AM – 4:00 PM 

Following will be posted after the Hackathon 

  • DevPost site, including all project submissions
  • Video reel of project demos
  • Playlist of other videos from the event
  • Photos from various photographers


Prizes will include a FOVE headset, GearVR and Daydream headsets, a one-year membership to Creative Enterprize Australia, and t-shirts.  Categories will cover:

Best VR Experience  
Best use of X3D  
Best Artistic Experience  
Best Audio Experience  
Best Social Experience  
Best GearVR Experience  
Accessibility Award  
Natural Resources Award  



Organization Team

Anita Havele

Executive Director, Web3D Consortium

Co-chair: Craig James

Research Engineer, CSIRO Energy

Co-Chair: Lex Van Cooten

Director, Immerse Academy

Committee: Alan James

Senior Visualisation and Software Developer, QUT

Committee: Josh Bowden

Applications Support Specialist, CSIRO IM&T

Committee: Leah Gustafson

Teacher, TAFE Queensland

Committee: Stuart Anderson

Research Technician, CSIRO Data61

Committee: Vibhor Pandey

Manager, Market Research and Lead Generation, Brisbane Marketing